jump to navigation

Skype – Free Phone Calls & Video Conferencing October 13, 2006

Posted by greentreadmill in Phone calls, video, web 2.0.
trackback

Skype is amazing. Use it to make phone calls, video conference or instant message – all for free. Of course, you can purchase additional services; they have to make money somehow. These premium offerings allow you to make and receiving calls to and from landlines and mobile phones and provide voicemail and call forwarding services.

A friend of mine is in China. This morning, when I turned on my computer, I checked my Skype account and was surprised to see that he was available. Thinking that bandwidth might be an issue, I used Skype’s instant messaging feature to contact him. He replyed by initiating a video call. Within seconds, we had a video connection and I was talking face to face with my friend halfway across the world. Like I said – amazing!

Check it out at skype.com.

Skype does have some shortcomings. It can’t completely replace your phone, for example, because it can’t be uses to contact 911 services.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

